The Phi Delta Theta/Matthew Mason Distinguished Professorship in the College of Arts and Sciences is the second endowed chair to be funded by a fraternity at UNC.

Under the leadership of 1998 UNC graduate Shoff Allison of Charlotte, 241 donors raised $728,148 for the Phi Delta Theta/Matthew Mason professorship. Garnett Smith of Naples, Fla., a 1969 UNC graduate, gave the lead gift of $100,000.

The professorship qualified for a matching state grant of $334,000 from the North Carolina Distinguished Professors Endowment Trust Fund, bringing the endowment to more than $1 million. It is named in honor of the late Matthew Mason of Chapel Hill, a long-time employee of the Phi Delta Theta house who was made a member of the fraternity later in his career.

“This professorship is a great way to support Phi Delta Theta and honor Matthew Mason,” Smith said.

Mason, Allison said, “was the glue and bond that tied Phi Delta Theta together for the last 60 years.”

The Phi Delta Theta/Matthew Mason Distinguished Professor

2006 – Present: Dinesh Manocha