Skip to main content

Shelley Clarke, the manager for the Institute for the Study of the Americas, and Eve Duffy, a manager in the Program in the Humanities and Human Values, were honored at a ceremony May 22 for the ways in which they support and influence others in their jobs at UNC.

Clarke received the University Manager of the Year award from the University Managers Association and Duffy received the Outstanding Encouragement of Learning and Development (OELD) award presented by the Office of Human Resources.

UMA Award

Shelley Clarke
Shelley Clarke

The UMA award is given each year to a department manager whose University career accomplishments, or one specific accomplishment in the past year, have been of major significance.

Many nominators mentioned Clarke’s efficiency and her warm, cheerful attitude.

“Colleagues within and beyond her department nominated her for her dedication and outstanding commitment, her diligence and foresight in executing her responsibilities, her budgeting expertise and her genius at creative problem-solving,” read a citation.

Clarke was nominated by 12 colleagues, many of whom recognized the way she mentors other business managers on campus and the staff in her department, and engages members of the University community at all levels.

The award included a certificate, a cash prize, one-year membership in the UMA and a book.

OELD Award

Eve Duffy
Eve Duffy

The annual OELD Award was created by the Chancellor’s Task Force for a Better Workplace to recognize supervisors who enable staff members to participate in learning activities as fully as possible within the framework of an effective workplace.

“My manager’s encouragement isn’t just lip service, but a commitment,” read one letter nominating Duffy for the award.

Another employee noted, “Eve constantly strives to tap my interests and passions, thus making me a more engaged and productive employee. She actively seeks appropriate learning opportunities for all of her staff members.”

The award includes 24 hours of paid leave, nomination for a Chancellor’s Award and a plaque.



Comments are closed.