Skip to main content

Photos in a collage of all of the Thorp Scholars; the words on the image say: "Congratulations Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars Class VII."


The Carolina Center of Public Service recognized Class VII of Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars (FES) in a virtual ceremony on Dec. 11.

The FES program brings together selected faculty from across campus to engage in a two-year experiential, competency-based curriculum designed to advance their engaged scholarship. Scholars participate in sessions in community settings to learn from Carolina faculty and their community partners. While developing individual projects, each class of scholars forms a learning community along with the faculty and community course directors to support one another’s projects and community partners. The growing network of Scholars reports outcomes including new interdisciplinary collaborations, successful grant applications and both traditional and non-traditional products of scholarship.

Faculty scholars from the College of Arts & Sciences include Shauna Cooper, Sarah Dempsey and Danielle Spurlock.

Special thanks to Faculty Course Director Ronald Strauss and Community Course Director Melvin Jackson for their dedicated service to the FES program.

Download the graduation bulletin.


Cheryl Mason Bolick
School of Education

Jada Brooks
School of Nursing

Shauna M. Cooper
Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
College of Arts and Sciences

Sarah E. Dempsey
Department of Communication
College of Arts and Sciences

Amelia Gibson
School of Information and Library Science

Danielle Spurlock
Department of City and Regional Planning
College of Arts and Sciences

Jessica Williams
School of Nursing

Amy Blank Wilson
School of Social Work

Courtney G. Woods
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Gillings School of Global Public Health

Comments are closed.