Skip to main content
Fall foliage at the Old Well on UNC's campus
(Photo by Johnny Andrews/UNC-Chapel Hill)

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, inducted 260 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members. Less than 1% of all college students qualify for acceptance.

The recent induction ceremony featured remarks by chapter officers and a keynote address by Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost J. Christopher Clemens, Jaroslav Folda Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy.

Past and present Phi Beta Kappa members from across the country have included 17 American presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, more than 150 Nobel Laureates and numerous artistic, intellectual and political leaders.

Phi Beta Kappa membership is open to undergraduates in college and professional degree programs who meet stringent eligibility requirements. A student who has completed 75 hours of coursework in the liberal arts and sciences with a GPA of 3.85 or better on a 4-point scale is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has completed 105 hours of coursework in the liberal arts and sciences with a 3.75 GPA. Grades earned at other universities are not considered.

Phi Beta Kappa has 293 chapters nationwide. UNC-Chapel Hill’s chapter, Alpha of North Carolina, was founded in 1904 and is the oldest of eight chapters in the state.

Each year, Phi Beta Kappa chapters and alumni associations across the country raise and distribute more than $1 million in awards, scholarships and prizes benefiting high schools and college students.

Phi Beta Kappa officers at Carolina for 2022-23 are students Ayaka Uehara, president; Sierra Foster, vice president; and Hans Oh, recording secretary. James L. Leloudis, professor of history, Peter T. Grauer associate dean for Honors Carolina, and director of the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence, are chapter executive secretary and faculty advisor.

See the full list of inductees here. All study in the College of Arts and Sciences except where otherwise noted.

By University Communications

Comments are closed.