Created to honor and support a political science professor, the Raymond H. Dawson Distinguished Professorship was established by C.D. Spangler Jr. and the C.D. Spangler Foundation Inc. in honor of Raymond H. Dawson, a distinguished political science professor who went on to serve the UNC system as vice president of academic affairs. Dawson worked with Spangler when Spangler served as president of the UNC system.

Dawson came to Chapel Hill to earn his Ph.D. after serving in the Air Force. A graduate of the College of the Ozarks, he holds a master’s degree in political science from Vanderbilt University.

After receiving his doctorate, Dawson joined the faculty and served as an outstanding teacher and scholar. He was one of the first to be honored with the Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and he was Carolina’s only winner of the E. Harris Harbison Prize as National Distinguished Teacher of the Year.

Dawson served as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and General College from 1968 to 1978. He then became the UNC system’s vice president for academic affairs, playing a key role in negotiating with the federal government during a conflict related to desegregation. He remained at UNC General Administration until 1992 and later taught at UNC Wilmington.

He has received a number of honors from UNC, including the General Alumni Association’s Distinguished Service Medal, the Thomas Jefferson Award and the Class of 1989-William C. Friday Visiting Professorship in the College of Arts and Sciences.

C.D. Spangler served as UNC-System president from 1986-1997. A 1954 graduate of UNC with a degree in business, Spanger earned an MBA from Harvard Business School. After serving two years in the military, he joined the family business, C.D. Spangler Construction Co., in Charlotte and expanded the family’s holdings considerably. As vice chair of the Charlottel-Mecklenburg school board in the early 1970s, Spangler led the successful integration of public schools. He served as chair of the state Board of Education before becoming president of the UNC system.

The Spangler Foundation, established in 1956, provides funding primarily for research and education. The foundation has created more than 38 distinguished professorships within the UNC system.

The Raymond H. Dawson Distinguished Professor:

James Stimson