Skip to main content

Dramatic art’s Jamie Strickland named Manager of the Year

Jamie Strickland, a Carolina alumna and department manager for the department of dramatic art, has been presented with the College of Arts and Sciences’ Award in Management.

Nine UNC scientists elected AAAS fellows

Nine scientists from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society.

Study shows increase in negative messages about Muslims in the media

Organizations using fear and anger to spread negative messages about Muslims have moved from the fringes of public discourse into the mainstream media since the Sept. 11 attacks, according to new research by a University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sociologist.

Nine professors named Fellows of American Mathematical Society

Mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2013, the program’s initial year, including nine faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences.

UNC computer scientist named IEEE fellow

IEEE (the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity, recently honored Professor Sanjoy Baruah from the department of computer science in UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences in the IEEE Fellow Class of 2013. The IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members … Continued

Salemi wins teaching award from Southern Economic Association

Michael K. Salemi, professor emeritus of economics in UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences, received the Kenneth G. Elzinga Distinguished Teaching Award from the Southern Economic Association.

Myrick becomes 48th UNC Rhodes Scholar

Rachel M. Myrick of Charlotte, a senior at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has won a Rhodes Scholarship, the world’s oldest and best known awards for graduate study.