Skip to main content

Exterior of Hyde Hall

The Institute for the Arts and Humanities is has announced the winners of the 2024 Schwab Academic Excellence Awards. The award recognizes one faculty member from each College of Arts and Sciences department in the arts, humanities and qualitative social sciences. Department chairs nominate faculty members, who may use the awarded funds to support their scholarship and creative activities.

IAH advisory board member and former chair Julia Sprunt Grumbles established the award in 2015 to help department chairs recognize teaching and scholarship. Nelson Schwab III, former IAH advisory board chair, has since endowed the fund.

This year’s recipients are:

African, African American and diaspora studies: Eunice Sahle (ALP ’16)
American studiesGabrielle Berlinger
Anthropology: Townsend Middleton (FFP ’14, ’20)
Asian and Middle Eastern studies: Pamela Lothspeich (FFP ’12, ’23)
City and regional planningAshley Hernandez
Classics: Jennifer Gates-Foster, (FFP ’16)
Communication: Joyce Rudinsky (FFP ’05, ’07)
Dramatic art: David Navalinksy
English and comparative literature: Ylce Irizarry
Geography and environment: Sara Smith (FFP ’11, FFP ’18)
Germanic Slavic languages and literatures: Adi Nester
History: Eren Tasar
Linguistics: Caitlin Smith
Music: Evan Feldman
Philosophy: Mariska Leunissen (FFP ’16)
Religious studiesBrendan Thornton (FFP ’22)
Romance studies: Nilzimar Hauskrecht Vieira
Sociology: Yong Cai
Women’s and gender studies: Tanya Shields (FFP ’20, ALP ’17)

By the Institute for the Arts and Humanities

Comments are closed.