Skip to main content

The aim of the College of Arts & Sciences Dean’s Diversity Advisory Committee (DAC) is to forward the College’s goals and values concerning diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). The DAC, made up of faculty and staff from across the College, advises the Dean and Senior Associate Dean for DEI (SADDEI) on diversity issues, proposing strategies for enhancing diversity among faculty and staff in the College, and supporting DEI efforts in departments and units. Additionally, the committee is charged with critically reviewing the College’s progress in DEI and making recommendations to the Dean on strategies to create a culture of inclusivity and equity for faculty, students, and staff.

Responsibilities of the Committee

  • Provide consultation and feedback on overall College and campus climate
  • Serve in an advisory capacity related to the implementation and monitoring of key action steps outlined in the College’s DEI strategic plan.
  • Consult on the development of programs within the College that aid in the recruitment, retention, productivity, and success of faculty and staff from diverse backgrounds
  • Serve as a liaison between faculty, staff, and the Dean’s Office, soliciting feedback and sharing communication.


The DAC is comprised of a total of 30 faculty and staff who represent the divisions, offices, ranks, and employee roles across the College. Four members of the committee, including the Dean and SADDEI are from the Dean’s Office.

Committee members currently serve a three-year term.

Committee members also serve on one of four subcommittees of the DEI Strategic Plan

Meeting Schedule

The DFDAC meets at least twice annually.

Current Advisory Committee


Andy Lang
Associate Dean of Information Technology and Data Analytics
Ashante Diallo
Associate Dean for Human Resources
Pay Equity
Donald Planey
Teaching Assistant Professor, City & Regional Planning
Heidi Kim
Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Idris Asani
Professor, Math
Pay Equity
Iheoma Iruka
Research Professor of Public Policy
Isaac Unah
Associate Professor of Political Science
Recruitment and Retention
James W.C. White
Craver Family Dean
Jason Clemmons
Director of Curriculum, Recruiting & Operations, Honors
Pay Equity
John Majikes
Teaching Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Recruitment and Retention
Jonah Hodge
Student Services Specialist, Communication
Joy Montemorano
Business Operations Executive Assistant
Karla Slocum
Senior Associate Dean for DEI
Kristin Richards
Graduation Coordinator, Academic Advising
Kymberly Burkhead-Dalton
Associate Director of Development, Arts & Sciences Foundation
Leslie Hicks
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Pay Equity
Lola Tasar
Student Services Specialist, Linguistics, Women's and Gender Studies
Recruitment and Retention
Lori Shamblin
Executive Assistant to the Chair, Biology
Pay Equity
Marc ter Horst
NMR Lab Director, Chemistry
Martin Sueldo
Teaching Associate Professor, Romance Studies
Mel'Leeah Robinson
Social/Clinical Research Assistant, Exercise and Sport Science
Miguel LaSerna
Professor, History
Priscilla Layne
Associate Professor of Germanic & Slavic Languages and Literatures
Recruitment and Retention
Sandra Lazo de la Vega
Program Coordinator, City and Regional Planning
Recruitment and Retention
Sandra Rayne
Research Specialist, Geography
Pay Equity
Shauna Cooper
Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
Pay Equity
Suzanne Lye
Assistant Professor, Classics
Recruitment and Retention
Tommie Watson
Executive Director, Institute for the Arts and Humanities
Recruitment and Retention
Warren Christian
ESL Specialist, Writing and Learning Center
Zach Kerr
Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science